New choices in election of Monroe County at-large councilors

After the June 2 primaries, voters in Monroe County could choose up to three from five different candidates for at-large county councilor—three Democrats and two Republicans.

cropped art for Larrin Wampler story

Now they have a choice of six, even after one of the Republican’s withdrew from the race. Zachary Weishheit, a Bloomington police officer, withdrew his candidacy on June 22.

Replacing Weisheit on the Republican ticket will be Larrin Wampler. She is described in a GOP press release as an occupational health nurse who manages the occupational health and industrial hygiene program for the Indiana National Guard and civilian personnel.

The additional choice in the race for at-large councilor will come in the form of Janna Arthur, a Bloomington resident who’s weighed in at public commentary during recent county council meetings in support of reduced policing and reduced funding for law enforcement agencies.

Arthur’s name won’t appear on the ballot—she has filed as a write-in candidate. Her filing, made on July 6, indicates her candidacy isn’t affiliated with any political party.

The deadline for a major party to fill an empty spot on the ballot—if it arose from a lack of candidates in the primary—already passed, on July 6. For a vacancy that resulted from a withdrawal, a different part of election law applies.

Under Indiana’s election law, if a major party candidate withdraws from the race, the party has 30 days to fill the spot.  Responding to an emailed question from The Square Beacon, Monroe County Republican Party chair, William Ellis, said the party had held a caucus, and approved a resolution giving him the authority to appoint a candidate to fill a vacancy on the ballot.

With the addition of Wampler to the ballot, voters will now have a total of six choices for county councilor in the Nov. 3 election: incumbent Democrats Geoff McKim, Cheryl Munson, and Trent Deckard; Republicans Larrin Wampler and retired firefighter James Allen; and write-in candidate Janna Arthur.