

## Community volunteer, IU trustee join Monroe County - Herald-Times (Bloomington, IN) - July 24, 1989

July 24, 1989 | Herald-Times (Bloomington, IN) | Bob Zaltsberg

A woman described as ``a kind of Florence Nightingale'' and the first woman member of the Indiana University Board of Trustees have been elected to the Monroe County Hall of Fame.

Former IU trustee Nellie Showers Teter and social service volunteer Willie Ethel Streeter were selected out of 10 nominees by Herald-Times readers.

**Willie Streeter** is remembered by community members as a tireless volunteer who put others before herself.

``She was one of the greatest,'' said the Rev. Ernie Butler of the Second Baptist Church. ``She was an unselfish community worker. Wherever there was a need, she did everything she could do to end that need.''

She received the city's Outstanding Older Volunteer award in April of 1983, just four months before she died at the age of 63. She was a member of the Senior Citizens Action Congress board of directors, and was instrumental in creating and organizing the annual Senior Citizens Day event at College Mall. She worked for the South Central Community Action Program (CAP) in Bloomington and was active in that organization through its first 18 years.

``She was more than well liked by her friends, co-workers and her clients; she was loved by them,'' said Phyllis Trinkle, executive director at CAP. ``She gave more of herself to others than any person I ever met.''

Trinkle said several employees at CAP keep framed pictures of Streeter on their desks.

In 1973, she received the Meritorious Service Award of the Monroe County Community Service Council for ``outstanding service in the interest of family and community.'' In 1981 she was named ``Woman of the Year'' by Delta Sigma Theta.

``She was everywhere on a person-to-person basis,'' said Bloomington Mayor Tomi Allison.

``She was a one-woman social service agency. She was a kind of Florence Nightingale.''

Perhaps Streeter is best remembered for the Senior Citizens Garden Project. She would get money donated for purchasing seeds, then she and other volunteers would distribute them among senior citizens who could otherwise not afford to have a garden.

In May of 1984, the community garden at Thornton and Highland on Bloomington's south side was dedicated in her honor and named the ``**Willie Streeter** Community Garden.''

Streeter also worked as a volunteer with the following organizations and agencies: Unionville Senior Center, the Christian Center, Head Start, the Older American Center Advisory Council, the Area 10 Agency on Aging, Second Baptist Church Missionary Club, Les Dames Club, the New Dawn Temple, the Jolly Batchelor Girls Club, the Butler Club and the Crestmont Tenant Association.

Streeter was elected to the Hall of Fame to represent people active after 1946. Also nominated this year were former Bloomington mayor Emmett ``Pop'' Kelly, IU biologist and sex researcher Alfred Kinsey, community activist Bennie Koch and Nobel Prize winner Hermann Muller, who was a member of the IU faculty.

Nellie Showers Teter was picked for the Hall of Fame to represent people active in Monroe County before 1946.

She was elected to the IU Board of Trustees in 1924 and served for 21 years. During the year she was elected Memorial Hall was dedicated. She was regarded as being particularly interested in construction and equipment of dormitories for women students.

She was born in Bloomington Nov. 11, 1873, into a prominent early Monroe County family. Her father, William N. Showers, was one of the owner-operators of Showers Brothers Furniture factory.

She was educated in the Bloomington schools, and in 1889 she entered IU on a certificate from the university's Prepatory Department. She earned her bachelor's degree in 1893.

Besides being a trustee, she was a member of Mortar Board and the Women's Faculty Club.

Teter Quad, an IU residential center, is named in her honor.

Also nominated were former professional baseball player Cornelius Cook, former Indiana Governor Paris Dunning, stone company founder Fred Matthews and Fernandus Payne, former chairman of the IU zoology department and dean of the graduate school.

Plaques bearing the names and short biographies of Nellie Showers Teter and Willie Ethel Streeter will be mounted this fall inside the northwest entrance of College Mall, where plaques honoring the other 30 members of the Hall of Fame already hang.

Other members of the Monroe County Hall of Fame (and the year they were selected) are:

. Pre-1946 charter members: Lilliam Lowe Bryan, IU president 1902-1937; Nat U. Hill sr., lawyer, bank president; Austin Seward Sr., founder of Seward and Co.; Mary Waldron, attorney and humanitarian; Andrew Wiley, first IU president.

. Post-1946 charter members: John R. Figg, businessman and philanthropist; Branch McCracken, IU head basketball coach 1938-1965; Rachel Peden, newspaper columnist and novelist; Ralph Rogers, founder of Ralph Rogers and Co., now known as the Rogers Group; and Herman B Wells, IU president for 25 years and now IU chancellor.

. 1977 (pre-1946 selection first): James D. Showers, civic leader; Sarkes Tarzian, industrialist/philanthropist.

. 1978: Henry B. Gentry, one of the owners of the ``Famous Gentry Brothers Shows'' circus; and the Rev. W. Douglas Rae, minister and civic leader.

. 1979: No selections.

. 1980: John W. Hoadley, pioneer in the Monroe County limestone industry; and Maurice Endwright, Ellettsville civic leader.

. 1981: Hoagy Carmichael, internationally known song writer; and Elma Stevenson, leader in developing Monroe County 4-H and extension programs.

. 1982: Alvin ``Bo'' McMillin, IU football coach (1934-48); and Ione Figg, community leader and philanthropist.

. 1983: Margaret Hemphill McCalla, helped found Bloomington High School; and William A. Cook, industrialist and philanthropist.

. 1984: Zora Clevenger, head of the IU athletic department (1923-46) and the Rev. Merrill McFall, pastor, community leader and goodwill ambassador.

. 1985: David Starr Jordan, IU president from 1885-1891; and John Stempel, journalist and civic leader.

. 1986: Paul V. McNutt, Indiana governor from 1933-1937; and Tom Lemon, three-time mayor of Bloomington.

. 1987: Johnnie Rutland Smith, patron of the arts, author, educator and women's advocate; and Mary Alice Dunlap, first woman mayor of Bloomington.

. 1988: Samuel Saul Dargan, the first black graduate of the Indiana University School of Law; and Nat U. Hill III, four-term judge of Monroe Circuit Court.

The Monroe County Hall of Fame began in 1976 as a Bicentennial project co-sponsored by The Herald-Telephone - now The Herald-Times - and the College Mall Merchants Association.

## CITATION (AGLC STYLE)

Bob Zaltsberg, 'Community volunteer, IU trustee join Monroe County Hall of Fame', *Herald-Times* (online), 24 Jul 1989 <a href="https://infoweb-newsbank-com.ezproxy.monroe.lib.in.us/apps/news/document-view?">https://infoweb-newsbank-com.ezproxy.monroe.lib.in.us/apps/news/document-view?</a> p=AWNB&docref=news/144EAA7BD20A2230>

© Copyright 1989 Herald-Times. All rights reserved.